Deer Hunting in Arkansas 2013

Arkansas, Antler Nation State, Deer Hunting in Arkansas




Est. Whitetail Population


No. Licenses Sold Annually


Resident hunting license and deer permit

$50 to $300

$50 for one-day All Game Hunting, $100 for three-day All Game Hunting, $150 for five-day All Game Hunting and an annual All Game Hunting for $300.

Non-resident hunting license and deer permit


Taken by Tom Sparks Jr. in Crawford County in 1975

Record B&C Typical Stat


Total B&C Typical Entries

238 3/8

Taken by William Dooley in Prairie County in 1999

Record B&C Non-Typical Stat


Record B&C Non-Typical Entries

Season Dates (2013): Archery season runs from Sept. 28 to Feb. 28 throughout the state. Gun and muzzleloader season dates and lengths vary by zone. In general, northwestern zones open Nov. 9 and run through Dec. 1. Northeastern zones are much shorter with more restrictive bag limits. Zones along the Mississippi River and in the southern portion of the state tend to have longer gun seasons with more liberal bag limits. Dates run from Nov. 9 to Dec. 25 in several zones. The statewide limit is six deer, no more than two of which may be bucks. Button bucks count as bucks.

The Grade: A-

Arkansas is well-known as a public-land paradise in the Southeast, boasting 130 WMAs, 10 National Wildlife Refuges, and nearly 3 million acres of National Forest. That's nearly 6.4 million total acres of public land, according to the AGFC. License fees are about on par with other states in the region, while the trophy potential is better than average for a southern state. Tags are available over the counter, and though the season dates and regulations for the various zones are a bit confusing, that's about the only fault we could find. When you understand the Antler Nation grading criteria, you'll see why Arkansas earned an easy A.

Antler Nation Knowledge: When it comes to big deer in Arkansas, it's no surprise the top counties are all found near the flat and fertile farm country of the Mississippi Delta in the east-central and southeast portion of the state. Cross, Monroe, Arkansas, St. Francis and White counties are the top five in non-typical entries. Desha, Arkansas, White, Cross and Prairie are the top five in typical entries.